Life, Philosophy, Writing

All Shapes All Sizes…

I try very hard not to do this, but it seems nearly impossible. I do this on a daily basis. If you’re reading this and we have had a face-to-face conversation, I have most definitely done this to you.

I compare myself to people constantly. Am I making as much money as them? Am I as happy as them? Am I as adventurous, intelligent, healthy, attractive, strong, cool, patient, humorous, thoughtful, creative, kind, etc… as them?

The answer is always no.

Ho Hum...

Ho Hum…

Seriously, anytime I attempt to make myself ¬†feel good by comparing myself to others, something like this happens…

Hmm... I notice that I am more physically fit than that person...

Hmm… I notice that I am more physically fit than that person…

Dang... but they are loads smarter than I am. They pick up analytical concepts at a MUCH faster rate than I... I suck...

Dang… but they are loads smarter than I am. They pick up complex concepts at a MUCH faster rate than me… I suck…

So, I’m constantly living in this world in which I am “winning” or “losing” some fake game that I’ve created in my mind. I’ve just recently come to terms with the fact I do that. No, this blog isn’t about how we shouldn’t size each other up. I believe we’re made to analyze and make adjustments accordingly. It makes sense. When we (humans) were out in the world without shelter or safe places to hide, we needed to be able to assess legitimate obstacles. This animal is bigger than me, but I’m smarter, but it’s faster. Ok, I’ll sneak up on it or hide.

That deer knows how to analyze threat assessment...

Threat Level: Human…

But, as far as sizing up other people go… I’m learning that every single person has a skill you don’t have. And, every single person lacks a skill you have. I find that beautiful. What that reveals to me is that we truly need each other. Human beings are highly mutually dependent. I’m not sure what that says about altruism, but it doesn’t matter. We don’t just help people because we want to. We help each other because we NEED to.

Anyway, I was writing this because I felt down on myself about what I’ve done so far in my life. And the thought that talked me down off of the ledge was that… I’m needed.

And I need you.

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

2 thoughts on “All Shapes All Sizes…

Leave a Reply

