Idealism, Philosophy

What’s Going On? pt. 2

No, not like the informal greeting. No, not like the good-intentioned inquiry of one about to attempt console someone. More like the Marvin Gaye type.

Mr. Gaye is tactfully asking the world… WTF?

Also, that popped collar makes me wonder if he’s not the TRUE Dark Knight.

Well, I’m right there with him. W… T… F… What IS going on? this isn’t going to be one of those posts about specific things that common every day Americans do and what they SHOULD be doing. Why? Because I AM a common every day American that ISN’T doing what he should be doing and I feel like crap because of it and the goal of this is to activate not just myself, but everyone.

That picture either communicates laziness or my typical Monday night.

You see that picture? That’s been me lately. I’ve been working so hard at trying to find a job and make enough money to scrape by, that at the end of my days I say, “eff the world” and just lay in front of the tv. And, I really do put in a lot of work on a day to day basis. But, if all I’m working for is to just be able to do nothing for 5 hours until it’s time to go to bed, then something is either wrong with me or there is something wrong with the system.

I submit that both of these are the case, but the one I can change the quickest is myself. I know I’ve personally hit rock bottom because this started happening…

If ya wanna have fun and do somethin’ craaazy.

If that just looks like a picture of children to you… You. WIN. If, however you know exactly what that is, you and I are in the same boat and we should just paddle it out into the middle of the sea and let Richard Parker┬áhave his way with us.

Now, I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with watching Jersey Shore or any other reality tv show. The problem lies in why I personally am watching. I initially watched out of cultural curiosity. It’s not enlightened to separate yourself from pop-culture by the way. (Especially, if it’s just to align yourself with a sub-pop-culture… you hipster twat-waffle) It was interesting to dissect the different personalities of the self-described guidos and guidettes. It was also interesting breaking down all of their social interactions with non-cast members. As you can see, I was watching for science dammit.

But, I suddenly found myself mindlessly watching repeats of it… a lot. My only solace being that at least I haven’t started watching Honey Boo Boo. There is nothing wrong with watching reality tv… until it begins replacing actual reality.

You gon’ be mah next victim, girlfriend.

Slightly off-topic but, there’s something wrong with a society that’s totally ok with making fun of and using a 6 year old to feel better about themselves. That’s not a picture of a Honey Boo Boo. There is no such thing as a Honey Boo Boo. That’s a 6 year old girl named Alana Thompson. And, I might even be more ok with her fame if it didn’t come from the perception that the producers of the show want you to have. The idea is you’re better than them and that they’re strange and represent some dark unturned underbelly of society. But, the truth of the matter is, is that they’re just a family. They’re weird because ALL families are weird.

Anyway, that’s not the only problem I’ve been having. I’m going to have to vote for someone in the next few weeks and the only thing I really know about either candidate is that one of them is a multi-millionaire Harvard Law graduate who knows what’s best for the common man and the other is a… oh wait…

Because the best way to solve the nation’s problems is to just be a palette swap of your opponent and say you like the opposite of anything he likes.

Now, I know that they’re very different. They both grew up very differently, have different policies and styles and skin colors. But, it seems like I can’t get to the bottom of what really makes them different and worthy (or not worthy) of my vote because of lack of nuance. Everything is black and white (oh, like you weren’t waiting for that) and it seems like the whole thing is just a spectacle.

We ARE entertained, Maximus!

And therein lies the problem. We’re entertained, but not informed and I am just as guilty as anyone else of not wanting just cold hard information. I want infotainment. And thus, solid lines need to be drawn. Nobody wants to see Batman level with The Joker about his mommy issues. We desire drama. We crave conflict.

I feel like I haven’t been paying a lot of attention to the more important things in my world. I’ve been on autopilot and I’m tired of myself and everyone else thinking that that has to be our standard. Tomorrow is Monday and I want to change my life, I want to become more active and I’m tired of not caring.

Much Love,

-Brandon Holly-

Standard

Leave a Reply

