Life, Philosophy, Uncategorized

Chase Passion

I’m noticing that what I’m interested in at any given moment tends to have little to do with my own personal interests. My personal interests are reading, writing, spirituality, and music. Those are the things I tend to gravitate towards when nothing else specifically has my attention. However, I notice that I’ll often get into things that aren’t my own passions. They are someone else’s, but that person’s enthusiasm rubs off on me and suddenly makes the subject infinitely more interesting!

I was listening to a podcast just the other day featuring this guy:

That explains it…

His name is Neil deGrasse Tyson (obviously) and his passion for discovery and space and physics has gotten me breaking out my glow in the dark stars again! I’ve always been interested in the universe and the things going on around us. However, listening to him makes me want to go back to school to become an astrophysicist! Despite the fact that I know my true passion is literature and writing, I seriously have to keep talking myself out of trying to become a scientist. – Besides, I don’t have the money to go back to school yet… *sigh*

Jay, Silent Bob, and Boring Brandon all need a little cash…

It’s honestly a very interesting phenomenon, however. Introduce me to James Bond (the bird guy not the spy) and I’d be taking up ornithology! Introduce me to Matt Hoffman (which could conceivably happen, he’s from Oklahoma) and I’ll be building ramps in the backyard! Introduce me to Chihuly and suddenly I’m taking sculpting classes! I am very easily influenced by people who are talented, intelligent, and passionate about their fields.

Which often turns me into a Jack-of-all-Trades, but…

a master of none.

Oh well, that’s just me. I think that’s something I like about myself. It’s something I hope I never stop doing. Wait, no. I mean, I want to become a master. I mean, I like the fact that…

I chase passion!

I guess that’s what *INCOMING CLICHÉ QUOTE* Poppa Jack was talking about when he wrote, “The only people for me are the mad ones…”

[This is ACTUALLY the end of the quote, but I like to think of it as a command] “Never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” – The Original JK –

A friend and I once compared ourselves to Poppa Jack. I remember concluding that we were better off because we’re more self-aware. At the same time, maybe that’s why I’ll never be as prolific. My inner monologue constantly over-narrating and keeping my plot from moving along or going anywhere interesting.

Because you see, I LOVE the mad ones. I do. However, in reality, I’d rather BE one.

Embrace your MAD side! Let’s all strive to be mad! Haha

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

Leave a Reply

