Life, peace corps

Sweaty Christmas

I wish neck beards were sexy. I say that because I like having facial hair, but it seems as if my neck beard grows in so much faster than the other more desirable hairs on my face.

More Like Sexbeard!

Anyway, this is my last Christmas here in The Philippines. I try to make it feel like Christmas here, but the warm temperatures throw me off. In fact, I keep forgetting that in only 5 days it will indeed be Christmas day!

Ho Ho Holy Crap It's Still Hot??

Though, to be honest, it is actually not as hot as usual. In fact, just yesterday I felt a little cold. I mean, I wasn’t ready to put a coat on or anything, but hey, it’s something.

This may be my last post for awhile. I am about to go a-travelin’ all around this great land to abate my loneliness. Last year’s Christmas was a sad occasion filled with unfamiliar traditions, faces, and circumstances. However, this year, I am allowed to travel. And travel I shall.

Just Picture That Woman As Brandon Holly And That Scarf As Neckbeard

I’ll first go down to the southern portion of my island and meet with friends for some Christmas partying! I’m bringing a little block of ham and macaroni and cheese! That should be a lot of fun and I’ll even get to meet the fresh new volunteer that has been placed there. His name is Ben and everyone says he is cool, I think he has a blog, wait … Found It!

Then, I may spend one day in Puerto Galera for some fun on the beach there!

Then, I will travel to the city of Manila to ring in the New Year with a few of my good Peace Corps buddies!

This Is How Brandon Likes To Party ... Try To Keep Up.

Several members of my friends and family have e-mailed me or facebook messaged me saying, “Hey! Tell us about your life!” Apparently my blog isn’t good enough.

Two Out Of Three Ain't Bad ... Though, As It Turns Out, Internet Cafes Frown Upon You Sitting There In Your Tasteful And Festive Christmas Boxers

Admittedly, I do use my blog as an excuse to not write to all of you individually.* With that said, I do plan on writing personal e-mails. I would write individual letters, but I’m poor and postage costs money. However, I will see what I can do come New Years!

Though, as I’ve told a couple of my friends. I really don’t have a lot to say about life here! The things that were interesting and exciting to tell you all about before, are boring and mundane now.

Well… I did wake up yesterday morning to a pair of supremely gross chuck taylors.

Except Mine Were Worse

You know you had a good night when you look at your shoes and think, ‘Wow! Thank goodness I wore my shoes rather than my tsinelas!’ then you think, ‘Oh wait. I’m going to have to clean these…’

That’s a bit deceptive. I didn’t have a crazy night or anything. It was just Roy’s birthday. Roy is an Aussie volunteer. A few of Tam’s friends showed up. Oh, um Tam is also an Aussie volunteer.

G'day Mate!

Oh, and by the way, even though my two other site mates are Australian, all of my ideas about Australians have been stomped on and destroyed. First of all, NEITHER OF THEM look anything like Steve Irwin or his family. Second of all, neither of them has once said ‘G’day’ ‘Fair Dinkum’ ‘Mate’ ‘Barbie’ or ‘Bloke’. Lastly, they don’t even wear safari outfits! Do you know how disappointing that is? It’s almost like finding out Santa Claus isn’t real!**

Oh. Yeah. Roy’s birthday. We just got up and danced at the bar near us, but since it is outside, the ground was a little muddy. Don’t worry, I captured a picture from the night.

Justin Bieber Again? Hooray!

Well, anyway, I think I’ll actually start writing those e-mails. I hope this blog finds you near friends and or family. I hope your heart is filled with the spirit of giving and the joy of knowing that those you love love you back. I hope all of my cheesy sentiments are laughed at, but actually taken to heart. As I finish this last blog of 2010 I want to wish all of you a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and a Prosperous New Year!

& From Brandon Holly

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

*Obviously, this is only to people I know personally. If you found my blog just because you typed lizard poop into a search engine I’m PROBABLY not referring to you.

**Naturally, I’m joking.

Standard

One thought on “Sweaty Christmas

  1. Your One and Only! says:

    I hope your heart is filled with the spirit of giving and the joy of knowing that those you love, love you back.

    I hope so too!

Leave a Reply

