peace corps

9.5 Months

It has been a long time. I have been very busy these past few weeks. I have been playing with children, teaching teachers, and lately I have been hanging out at one of the biggest tourist spots in The Phillies, Boracay. I have had a lot of fun and a little sleep and I am ready for the school year to start again.

I have been thinking a lot about my impact here. I suppose I always think about it, but I just want to write about it. I had a good conversation with a fellow peace corps volunteer about how real, solid, change happens. It happens slowly. It’s a process. No step, no matter how insignificant is pointless. One of the most damaging things you can say about anything that is a step in the right direction is, “oh it wasn’t enough” Because when change does happen, you will soon realize that it wasn’t enough, but it was pivotal. Like Bill Murray in What About Bob? We have to “baby step” to change.

On a different note. I am exhausted. I need to just sleep for 2 days straight. I am nervous about being at site. I have grown quite accustomed to having large groups of other Americans around. I have a site mate and everything, but living in close quarters with 20+ people that see you as “one of them” and have the same humor, culture, and values (more or less) is a really nice thing.

I guess all good things have to come to an end.

Speaking of things ending. It is amazing how fast this experience is flying by. Roughly 9.5 months have passed since I left Oklahoma for The Phillies. That’s crazy to me.

As I sit here in this Starbucks complete with flushing toilet, air conditioning, internet, and people who speak English as their 1st language; I can’t help, but feel guilty. This. Isn’t. Peace Corps. People call Peace Corps Philippines “posh corps”. I see why. But in less than 24 hours I will be back to my normal life of no air-conditioning, no shower, no solid internet, lots of insects, and so on.

I need to make my service worthwhile.

I don’t want any regrets.

They say life is calling.

I will be the one.

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

One thought on “9.5 Months

  1. Vickie Horn says:

    Jeez, no fellow peers who share your same humor, culture, attitudes, etcetera is one of the main things I know I will miss when I go to S. Korea for a year. 😦 I’m not looking forward to that aspect….

    You’re doing a great job, Brandon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

