Uncategorized

The Cast

I thought to give you all a better understanding of who I am surrounded with I would give a quick bio of my cluster (the others I’m training with) and my host family.

First the group I live near. Just basic info for them.

Jerica
Race: African American
Age: 21
Hair: Black and twisted
Personality: Curious, Discerning, Happy
Friend Equivalent: Rhonda Walker (it’s kind of strange)

Christopher
Race: Caucasian
Age: 23
Hair: Short and Light Brown (some slight thinning at the top)
Personality: Awkward, Funny, Awkward
Friend Equivalent: Joe Greenwood

Shauna
Race: Caucasian
Age: 23
Hair: Medium length and blonde
Personality: Intelligent, Kind, Determined
Friend Equivalent: Whitney Parker

Shea
Race: Caucasian
Age: 23
Hair: Short and blonde (generally in a little ponytail)
Personality: Outgoing, Loud, Friendly
Friend Equivalent: Kate Long (but if she was louder)

My family.

Nanay (Mother)

Nora is a kind, but loud woman. I love her, but sometimes she can be overbearing and forgets that I am an adult. She means well, however. She has a lot of dreams and when she stops me from doing things she generally gives me no answer other than “Pilipino!”

Me: “Why can’t I put my hand in the rain?”
Nora: “Pilipino!”
Me: “That’s not a reason”
Nora: “It’s . . . It . . . um. [jumbled tagalog sentences] Um. PILIPINO!”

Tatay (Father)

Manny is a kind hard-working man. He is really one of the coolest guys ever, but I rarely see him because he works a lot. He does not drink as often as his friends, but when he does he is very funny. His cheeks get very rosy and he cannot be described any other way, but cute. Also, when he’s drunk he likes to yell at me . . . because he loves me!

Me: “Hi Tatay!”
Manny: BranDON!
Me: TaTAY!
Manny: BranDON! You are my panganay!
Me: I kno-
Manny: MY FIRST BABY!
Me: Yep, becau-
Manny: I LOVE YOU!
Me: Gusto ko, ika- (I like yo-)
Manny: BranDON!
Me: Uh huh?
Manny: I miss you when you go.
Me: I know, I’ll miss you too.
Manny: PANGANAY! BranDON! You are my first baby!

Kapatid na Lalaki (Brother)

Renz is 20 and soft spoken for a Filipino, but he’s a good guy. The first time I met him he was trying to carry my suitcase. My suitcase is very heavy and this guy is 5’9″ and maybe 110 pounds. I traded him for my guitar and suddenly he was much faster. He was home a good ten minutes before the rest of us. Since I’ve been here he has started to talk to me more. Me using broken Tagalog and he using broken English.

Me: Hey Renz
Renz: …
Me: Kumusta Ka?
Renz: ! Okay lang
Me: Kumusta Jenny (his girlfriend)
Renz: [A whole lot of Tagalog]
Me: Paki-ulit Dahan Dahan (please repeat slower . . .)
Renz: [Still a whole lot of Tagalog, but with key words]
Me: Cool
Renz: ?
Me: I mean, Mabuti (That’s good)

Kapatid na Babae (Sister)

Kryzel and Daphne are cool. Kryzel is 18 and Daph is 12. Daph is matigas na ulo (hard headed) and Kryzel is Napakabait (Very Nice). Kryzel basically does all of the chores and I try to help because I feel bad. However, she is waiting to get into school so her only job is do the chores. Thus, she feels bad if she doesn’t do the housework. Daphne is in her first year of high school (the school system is different . . . obviously). She is really bratty but fun to be around. She is very Makulit (Ornery)

Me: Hey Daph!
Daph: (mumbles to her mom)
Nanay: Just ask Kuya (big brother) Brandon yourself!
Daph: Can I borrow your dictionary?
Me: OK
Daph: …. (mumbles to her mom)
Nanay: Just tell him
Daph: Smiles and winks at me
Nanay: She thinks someone has a crush on you
Me: Greeeaaaatttt . . . .

Kryzel: Put it!
Me: But I just want to hel-
Kryzel: I WILL BE THE ONE!
Me: Sige! (OK!) but just one di-
Kryzel: I WILL BE THE ONE!
Me: Sige . . .

So that’s my basic cast of characters. There are many more, but I don’t have the time. I hope that gives you a bit more insight.

I have been a bit down lately, but hopefully it will pass.

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

5 thoughts on “The Cast

  1. brandon!! its good to know you’re surrounded by good people. that makes me happy. šŸ™‚

    also, i’m glad you posted today because i read about the tropical storm yesterday and got worried about you. I LOVE YOU and miss you terribly. HUGS!!

  2. Vickie H says:

    Wow! That whole episode of finding out how allergic you are to mold is intense! I’m glad you’re doing okay now…..

    that would definitely make me want to come home. Good job toughing it out and keepin on.

  3. Pingback: Well, At Least We Made It « brandonwantstochangetheworld

Leave a Reply

