peace corps

Rough Start

I am in transit. I should be on my way to San Francisco for Peace Corps orientation. Instead I am sitting in an airport waiting for my flight to Salt Lake City. Then, hopefully, I will be on my way to San Francisco. A mere 6 hours late! I just hope everything works out, because what if this flight is delayed for some reason? What if I can’t make it to San Francisco until tomorrow and my flight to The Philippines is already gone!? Is my chance lost forever? What happens then?

What’s worse is that my Peace Corps liaison is becoming more and more irritated with the situation. I just wish there was something I can do, but there is nothing. I feel completely and utterly helpless at this particular moment. The sad part is apparently that is not something uncommon to a Peace Corps Volunteer. I have been reading a book they give to you called “A Life Inspired” and a lot of the stories start with something like, “Yeah the first few months I felt useless” but then everything turns out alright. Either way, the thought of this being the status quo rather than a fluke is a bit disconcerting. Then my Peace Corps liaison ALSO told me my baggage might not get there! It doesn’t surprise me, but it certainly does not help my situation. I’ve already choked back tears several times today. I really don’t want to crack, but I’m definitely being pushed.

Unfortunately (or fortunately), I am an incurable optimist, so I honestly believe everything will turn out fine. Even though I feel a bit stressed and on edge (3 cups of coffee were NOT a good idea), I’m not too worried.

“I can’t do this all on my own, no I know, I’m no superman” – Lazlo Bane

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

Leave a Reply

