peace corps

Compassion

Hey look! A post that is on time! Also, the post below this one is my “Monday” post if you missed it.

I am a naturally curious person. The internet, being the information super-highway, can suck a lot of time out of me. Time I could be doing instead of learning. Learning is not bad. It’s just that I see it take the place of action much too often.

An example of this is when I bought workout books one summer. Summer ended and I was still a 90 pound wimp when the school year started. Another good example would be a friend of mine whose collection of diet books and information is only rivaled by the collection of McDonald’s bags in this person’s car.

Being misinformed or not informed enough can be a problem as well. In this case, I am uninformed about the CIA. I feel like I am not supposed to like the CIA. I also feel like they must serve a purpose and that I should appreciate them.

I do not appreciate torture. I even heard a story about a man who once believed waterboarding was not torture. He changed his mind.

I am not going to go any further because that’s not what this post is about. It just made me think of a quote I once read. It is by William Hazlitt. Hazlitt is one of those guys you probably never hear about unless you are a geeky English major i.e. – Brandon Holly. He is one of William Wordsworth’s contemporaries. Anyway, the quote reads, “The smallest pain in our little finger gives us more concern than the destruction of millions of our fellow beings” and it hurts how true that statement tends to be.

We allow torture only because we cannot imagine torture ourselves. We allow starvation because we cannot imagine starvation ourselves. We allow sickness, death, corruption, and so forth because we do not personally know what it is like to be afflicted.

If my friend gets a paper cut I’m the first person to reach for a bandage, because man, that SMARTS!

I am very impressed with Erich Muller. He held an opinion, and he put himself out there. He wanted to know what it felt like. When he did. He changed his mind. That takes a lot of courage.

I wonder if the Peace Corps will change my mind about things.

A list of things that I have changed my mind about.

God.
War.
Relationships.
Abortion.
Pacifism.
Poetry.
Death.
Hell.

By the end of two years I could become a completely different person. This excites and frightens me.

Change your mind today.

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

Leave a Reply

