peace corps

Slacker

I am really bad at keeping my own update schedule, but the guilt keeps me writing.

I thought the Monday Wednesday Friday thing would work, but depending on where I am I do not always have reliable internet service. I am sorry.

Anyway,

I am such a procrastinator. I got my staging e-mail and instead of booking a flight that day. I decided to wait until the next day. Which was yesterday. I still haven’t booked the flight. I would also like to be First Aid and CPR certified. Money has stopped me from attaining that goal. I have two weeks in which I can get that completed.

[UPDATE: As I was typing this blog I got nervous. I have officially booked my flight.]

I get paid on Friday, thus I believe I will be attaining my First Aid Certification August 15th.

You know how I keep talking about things changing on me? They did it again! Yes, ladies and gentleman. The Peace Corps has changed yet another date on me. Please be aware that I do not write these out of annoyance, but because this is amusing. I thought I was leaving on Wednesday August 19th. All of my packets say that I will be leaving August 19th. Even the e-mail. However, as the update mentioned, I booked my flight. As it turns out I am actually leaving on the 20th. Apparently a long long time ago in a Peace Corps far far away training was two days long. This is no longer the case. Training is only one day. That does mean I get one extra day with my family. I just cannot believe that they changed something on me AGAIN! That is kind of how I operate though. My parents and friends have stopped asking me what my plans are because my response is generally a shrug. I am a spur of the moment, whatever I feel like at the time, read: wishy-washy type of guy.

I am also a guy who thinks that if you feel like the world needs to change you have got to be the catalyst. There is an organization that I am adding to my “Links I Like” page called We Are What We Do. This should become your new mantra. Well, OUR new mantra. I actually ran across this organization because I went to my employer to pick up materials for a project I’m doing.

I’m basically reading and doing arts and crafts with about a dozen toddler age to pre-pubescent girls. The woman who usually does this is named Libby. Libby is a Caucasian woman who looks like a mom, sounds like a mom, and does projects like a mom. I, on the other hand, am a 22yr. old black male that looks like a college student, sounds like a college student, and gets paid like a college student. Yet, they seem to like us both. I assume they like Libby because of her enthusiasm and maternal nature. I assume they like me because I am clueless and will run around like a chicken with my head cut off in an attempt to please everyone.

Sorry for the digression. Anyway, as I was picking up the project I stopped in the Science section of the bookstore in order to see if there are any more books pertaining to sex and how it affects everything. (Biologists of the world! I get it! My need to make myself seem important is due to the fact that my genetic imperative compels me!) While browsing, I found a book hiding in the background. It was misplaced, but it was called Change The World For Ten Bucks. I loved the idea and I vowed to advertise. The book details simple everyday things you can do to change your world. Examples include, unplug your television, hang your clothes out to dry, plant stuff!

Well, I cannot think of anything else that seemed interesting. Check out the website for We Are What We Do, listen to music that inspires you, check out the links, read, just do something other than watch youtube videos or t.v.

Socrates said, “The unexamined life is not worth living”

Brandon says, “A life lived on zombie autopilot is not worth living either”

Rage Against The Machine says, “It has to start somewhere, it has to start sometime, what better place than here, what better time than now? All hell can’t stop us now.”

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

Leave a Reply

