Uncategorized

Finding Home

“I see where we had common doubt, I’d be lonely if you weren’t so proud” – Saosin

My time in the states is spiraling to an end. Everyday that passes brings me exponentially closer to my departure date. That date felt so far away when it was 6 months ago . . . and September.

I wonder if I ever told everyone this. When I first signed up and got nominated for Peace Corps service I got my body checked out and got poked in the arms several times. I thought I was doing it to go to a “-stan” country. You know? All those countries under Russia like Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan . . . Anyway, I thought I was going there and I thought I wasn’t leaving until September.

Cool. I get my whole summer and by the time I leave most of my friends will have been in school and preoccupied with that. Thus, making goodbyes a bit easier.

*WRONG!*

The Corps calls me right after I graduate and says, “Hey, here’s the deal. We need you to go to Asia instead.” I say, “Hey! That’s cool with me. I wanted to go to an Asian country in the first place.” They respond, “Great! See you in August. Bye!” *click*

What . . . The . . . F . . . un

What did I do? What did I do? What did I do?

Oh no! A few days later I get the packets that say, “Philippines for you! You leave August 19th!”

Anyway, since I’m leaving so soon. I am starting to notice all of the little things I take for granted. I am truly, madly, deeply going to miss Oklahomans. I love Oklahoma people. We’re all overweight, pregnant, and cheaters, but we are caring and happy and interesting.

Growing up I wanted out of Oklahoma so bad. I HATED that I was from here. I have no qualms about admitting it now. However, now. I am proud to be an Oklahoman. The scissor-tailed flycatchers, the trees, locusts, my grandparents, the McDonald’s on every corner. I will miss it all.

I love you, Oklahoma. You were my first home, but now I am finding home elsewhere.

“The road goes and I am finding home in it” – Saosin

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

2 thoughts on “Finding Home

  1. baileymichelle says:

    Hey, the fun thing about going overseas and being from Oklahoma is that when people find out, they randomly burst out into, “Oooooooooooooooklahoma!” And then expect you to know the entire song. 🙂

  2. i’m glad you’re seeing the world. and that you actually like oklahoma. hah. i hate it. though i didn’t grow up here. and i hate where i grew up. i’m such a miserable person. hah

    but i love you. & i wish you well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

