peace corps

Connected

I have been watching quite a few videos lately. They can be found by surfing the Gel, TED, and Pop!Tech sites on the Links I Like page of my blog.

The buzz seems to be centered on connectivity. It is something we all yearn for. We want to be connected to each other at all times. Linda Stone’s speech on Gel focuses on some of the problems that can arise from this. Clay Shirky’s speech on TED focuses on how miraculous our connections are.

It’s something us humans crave. We need to be involved. We need to be part of “something”, however, “something” is an abstract concept. Seth Godin’s idea is that we all want to be part of each other. He basically believes it is our “Tribe” instinct.

This all makes perfect sense. A lot of our great inventions were created so that we can be with or communicate with each other more effectively. Phones, Automobiles, The Internet, E-mails, Text Messaging, Facebook and Myspace, Twitter, etc. We have an addiction to knowing what is happening with everyone and everything around the world at all times. We also have the mind-blowing ability TO know what is happening with everyone and everything around the world at all times.

We also have every ability to get to each other. Buses, Trains, Cars, Airplanes, Boats, Google Maps and even Google Street View. Think about this. We have a strong desire to be connected to each other, we have the desire and ability to get anywhere we want to be and to know exactly how to get there, we have also become EXTREMELY voyeuristic (just think about all of the “REALITY” tv shows). Thus, if technology keeps evolving, how long will it be before . . . GOOGLE BEDROOMS!!!! ( . . . I’m not completely joking . . . )

Anyway, I wrote all of that to make a point. We have so many means of communication. We have ever capability to centralize and activate. There is nothing that can stop us. We are all compassionate, connected, and clever (Alliteration! Hooray! . . . stupid English major). In this case . . . WHY ARE WE STILL FIGHTING WARS!? HOW HAVE WE NOT BECOME MORE COMPASSIONATE!? WHY ARE PEOPLE STILL STARVING AND UNDEREDUCATED? AND CAN SOMEONE PLEASE EXPLAIN HOW WE DO NOT SEE THE SHARED HUMANITY IN OUR ENEMIES?

Sorry for “yelling”, but I just don’t get this at all. I joined the Peace Corps because I want to change the world. I have come to the realization that we all have every ability to do so.

Yet . . . for some reason, it’s hard.

I have recently felt a strong urge to make sure my time in the Peace Corps is worthwhile. I feel it in my heart. It is a strong sense of desperation. A feeling that tells me that if I fail, I’ll feel like a failure forever. If you pray, please pray for me. If not, just support me and think happy thoughts. I feel like we are all on the brink of changing the world. The lever is just slightly out of reach right now.

Goodness, I think we can do this. With G-d’s guidance, I truly believe we can do this.

Unfortunately, I’m very tired. I could keep going, but I’ll leave it at that.

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

3 thoughts on “Connected

  1. Tyler Ward says:

    You are an incredible person and I consider myself lucky to be able to count you as one of my friends. I have felt as if the world is spiraling down toward its inevitable destruction in an out of control twister of despair, degradation, disillusionment, distrust, and denial (those silly English majors and their alliteration). We as a species do indeed are driven toward companionship but ironically we deny the humanity of others. This battle is one that I have chosen to fight alongside you an countless others that long see a unified and diplomatic world where conflicts are discussed over a desk instead over the barrel of a gun, where people are allowed to be different yet are not feared and abused, where mankind has put an end to war before the mechanism of war put an end to mankind

    Blessed are the Peace-Makers for they are the Sons of G-D.
    May Yeshua the Messiah and YHWH the Father bless you and keep you and guide you in your walk.

  2. Every single day good thoughts and prayers will be behind you on your journey. I like the word journey when referring to your time as a PCV because it feels deeper than just a physical trip somewhere. My first good thought in support of you is that I hope it will be a physical, spiritual, beautiful, challenging, world changing journey.

  3. I believe the reason why we still war, allow poverty, famine, sickness, and lack of education is because we all have a sin problem. Man is evil at heart and will be until we are made complete. We long for human interaction, but we long for it in a selfish manner. We want people to love US and care about US. I know this is true and I’ve especially seen it in my own life. It’s unfortunate…but it’s true.

    Until we are made complete our status as the human race will remain the same and our problems will also remain.

    But…because of the love of Chr-st in your life that you are willing to share during your time in the Peace Corps, hope can be given to those you work with as they see the light in you. Thanks for being willing to sacrifice your time to give this hope to others!

Leave a Reply

