peace corps

Change Yourself First

Before I really get into this post I just wanted to point people into the direction of my links page. It’s up at the top near my home and about page. It has a lot of really interesting links and things I find inspirational. Anyway, just check ’em out if you’re feeling stagnant . . . or bored.

“When there’s nothing left to burn you have to set yourself on fire” – Stars

I confirmed my invitation, making my official status as a PCV even MORE official.

In other news . . .

I have been seriously contemplating the idea of changing things for the better. I make sure I always add “for the better” because just saying that I want to change things could mean anything. In any case, I learned that in Aikido (at least according to a lot of websites) there is a creed. That creed is, “Change yourself first, before looking to change your opponent, and in the process, you might find that your opponent has changed himself”

Thus, I am looking for little ways in which to change myself. My first step was to start exercising more. So far so good on that one. I have run at least 30 minutes 5 days out of the week. Not too bad, right?

My next step is to write everyday. Writing that has nothing to do with this blog. I will try to write in this everyday until I leave, but I also need to do some “extra-curricular” writing.

I hope this works!

Also, I have decided to give lucid dreaming a try. Am I dreaming? *clicks bedroom light on and off* No, I must be awake. I started this yesterday. I haven’t had one, but at least I am remembering my dreams. Which is a huge step for me!

Much Love,

– Brandon Holly –

Standard

3 thoughts on “Change Yourself First

  1. i’m so proud of you brandon holly. i will miss you while you’re gone but i could not be more supportive of your passion, and your decision to act on it. love you, friend. i’ll be reading.

  2. The blog is wonderful so far! I cannot wait to see what shows up on here a few months from now (if you even have a chance to do that). It makes me so happy that you are writing, you have a gift for it. I send my love,
    -Simone

  3. Heath says:

    Power to you Brandon!
    That’s awesome! Good luck with everything! Chip and I wont be too far away, maybe we’ll see you in the next 2 years.
    We’ll keep up with the blog.
    ~Heath

Leave a Reply

