peace corps

What’s Going On? pt. 1

This blog will focus on my attempts to become a better person. It will also focus on my attempts to change the world into a better place. The logic follows as such: If I become a better person, the world will become better. Also, if the world becomes better then I have to become better.

Anyway, the main point of this post is to tell everyone and anyone what is going on in my life.

I have been invited to join the Peace Corps!

This is EXACTLY what is on the booklet they gave me:

YOUR ASSIGNMENT

Country: Philippines
Program: Education
Job Titles under this Project: Teacher of English Language Fluency
Dates of Service: November 13, 2009 – November 13, 2011
Orientation Dates: August 19 – 21, 2009
Pre-Service Training (In the Philippines) August 22 – November 12, 2009
*dates subject to change.

Hopefully that will answer most of the preliminary questions.

I thought I’d write about the process a bit.

“I’m in the open catching all the leaves . . .” – Dispatch

I often feel like my life is, for the most part, serendipitous. I get thrown into several situations.
Some that seem impossible. Then things reach a breaking point. I almost lose. I ALMOST fail.
Then my head pushes itself out from underground, the light hits my face, and everything just somehow turns out alright. I don’t deserve anything.

I have TECHNICALLY been a part of the Peace Corps. process since my freshman year of college. I have a military family. My family has a strong sense of nationalism and doing something for your country has always been a large part of my life. Unfortunately, as I grew older I became less interested in the military. It just did not fit in with my life philosophy. I would never disrespect a soldier and I have the utmost respect for our troops. I do. However, I just do not and (so far) can not see any glory in killing people in order to get your point across. I don’t have a conclusive answer to the question of what we should do when atrocities happen to people. However, I don’t think the answer is killing the oppressors. Maybe it is and I am just to idealistic to realize this. But for now, I am a peacemaker. There is a theory that war is perpetual. In other words, every war brings with it a period of peace. However, the memory lives on and eventually creates a new conflict. That was not very eloquent I know, but that’s the gist.

Nonetheless, my pacifist leanings did not take away the desire to do something for the country in which I live. I always figured that if you have no love for your country, then you should probably live elsewhere. Seriously. I have plenty of problems with the country, but underlying all of that is a fondness for it, despite the flaws. Anyway, once, during an enormous swell of self-righteousness and inadequacy I scoured the net for ways in which to impact the world. I found the Peace Corps. and realized that it was the perfect fit. I could serve my country, still be a peacemaker, and even change the world in the process.

After 4 years of informational meetings, doubt, more meetings, paperwork, and waiting . . . a lot of waiting. I got a package in the mail with a letter enclosed that read, “You are cordially invited to join Peace Corps Philippines’ Education Project as a Teacher of English Language Fluency” and I first thought, “I wonder if anyone has ever been unkindly invited to something rather than cordially” no really, has there ever been an invitation that read something like, “you are begrudgingly invited to . . .”

My response was not what I always imagined for myself. There was not an overwhelming sense of joy. There was not a feeling of relief knowing that I am FINALLY official. No. The only emotion I initially felt was overwhelming fear. I couldn’t believe I was actually going.

That’s where I am right now. I am directly between immense joy and trepidation. The more I read, the more excited I become. The more I talk about it, the more excited I become. In fact, as I type this I feel an immense shift in my emotions. I am a PCV (Peace Corps Volunteer) and I am going to change the world! brandonwantstochangetheworld and this is his first step. The next step is probably something along the lines of getting back in shape.

much love,

– Brandon Holly –

p.s. – I have two e-mails the yahoo one and my other new e-mail is BrandonKHolly@gmail.com

p.p.s. – If you know the yahoo, just use it (but I don’t want the name of that one getting around everywhere) so don’t post it here.

p.p.p.s. – If you’re not sure if you know me . . . you do.

Standard

4 thoughts on “What’s Going On? pt. 1

  1. Awesome news, man! May God pour so much of his love into you that it overflows and finds its way into the hearts of everyone you so much as wink at in the Phillipines. But before you do a lot of winking over there, you may want to double check that it’s not some kind of offensive gesture. I have not researched this thoroughly.

  2. brandon!
    as i read that, i couldn’t help but get excited for you and jealous of you at the same time. congratulations on being accepted. i know that it is a very hard process and even harder to get in. i couldn’t think of a better person than you to change the world.
    you’re going to do awesome things.
    blessed be the peacemakers for they will be called the children of God.

  3. I HAVE YOUR SHIRT!

    yay for you & your travels πŸ™‚ that’s exciting. seeing the world for real is amazing, and not many people do. like me. πŸ˜›

    so proud of you!
    loves

Leave a Reply

